Sunday, August 30, 2020

“If I love him, I shall be clean.  If I touch him, I shall be refined. 
If I embrace him, I shall be spotless.”
-Ancient Liturgy

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is swirl-dividers-bulletin-breaks.png

Good morning FCCG! Our Joys, Concerns and Announcements this week include:

  • Our birthdays and anniversaries this week: Karen Howard (September 1). Let us know if we missed yours!
  • The church Book Club will be having a zoom meeting on Friday, September 4. They have been reading The Wild Swans – by Jung Chang for this month. If you have not gotten a link for the zoom meeting, contact Sue Cechner. The book for next month’s meeting is The Blitz – by Juliet Gardiner.
  • Although we have resumed meeting at church for services, our weekly bulletin blog will continue for the next 12 to 18 months, so don’t worry if you are in a high risk category and feel safer at home, we’ll still be here for you.

Introit ………………………………………………………………. Morning has Broken
performed by Third Day
Introit Selected by Candy Stevens

As mentioned, we are showcasing introits selected by church members as their favorites over the years. This week our introit was selected by Candy Stevenson. Since she didn’t say whether she prefers an traditional or contemporary version, we get to see two this week, each with a different feel. Thanks Candy!

Cat Stevens Version, 1976
Third Day version, 2013

CALL TO WORSHIP       
Heirs of God, come to claim your identity.
Inheritors of glory, gather to worship our Creator.
How majestic is God’s name in all the earth!
How generously you have blessed us, O God!
The beauty of heaven and earth is God’s gift.
The awesome mystery of new life is entrusted to us.
We are the stewards of God’s creation.
The care of this planet is referred to us.
Plants and animals depend on our faithfulness.
Air and soil and water require our righteous management.
How awesome are the wonders around us!
How amazing is the trust God places in us!

OPENING HYMN ………………………………. #709 Glorious Things Of Thee Are Spoken

PRAYER OF INVOCATION
Bless us and keep us this day, O God, for we need your regular visitation to order our priorities.  We forget that we are called to act in your name, for the interest of all people.  We need to be reminded that the glory and honor given to us are meant for all to share.  In the name of Jesus, who humbly accepted your holiness, we seek the guidance of your Spirit in this time or worship, and in every day of service.  Amen.

PRAYER OF CONFESSION
Let us be fully open to God’s forgiving spirit, as we confess our sin before God and one another, and may God have mercy.
May Christ have mercy.
May God have mercy.
O God, we confess that we have resisted your rule in our lives.  We act in our own name for our own advantage.  We want glory and honor without sacrifice. We want to be your children and heirs without accepting your sovereignty. We want to claim your name without taking on the responsibilities given to members of your household.  O God, we have violated your truth in us.  Forgive us, we pray.  Amen.

WORDS OF ASSURANCE
Hear now these words of assurance:
The Spirit of Christ is a gift available to each one of us. Christ’s Spirit is formed in each believing heart. Receive his forgiveness and assume your role as his disciple.

Glory Patri ……………………………………………………………………………. #35

All readings are from the English Standard Version bible.

OLD TESTAMENT LESSON …………………… Isaiah 9:6-7 

Claire Buchanan reads the Old Testament Lesson

For to us a child is born, to us a son is given; and the government shall be upon his shoulder, and his name shall be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace. Of the increase of his government and of peace there will be no end, on the throne of David and over his kingdom, to establish it and to uphold it with justice and with righteousness from this time forth and forevermore. The zeal of the LORD of hosts will do this.

PSALTER LESSON ……………………………………………………. from Psalm 8

Sing praise to God who reigns above, the god of all creation.

Natalie Buchanan reads the Psalter Lesson

O Lord, our God,
How majestic is your name in all the earth!
You have set your glory above the heavens.
Out of the mouths of babes and infants
you have founded a bulwark because of your foes,
to silence the enemy and the avenger.

Sing praise to God who reigns above, the god of all creation.

Natalie Buchanan reads the Psalter Lesson

When I look to your heavens, the work of your fingers,
the moon and the stars that you have established;
what are human beings that you are mindful of them?
Mortals that you care for them?
Yet you have made them a little lower than God,
and crowned them with glory and honor.

Sing praise to God who reigns above, the god of all creation.

Natalie Buchanan reads the Psalter LEsson

You have given them dominion over the works of your hands;
you have put all things under their feet,
all sheep and oxen,
and also the beasts of the field,
the birds of the air, and the fish of the sea,
whatever passes along the paths of the seas.
O Lord, our God,
how majestic is your name in all the earth!

Sing praise to God who reigns above, the god of all creation.

EPISTLE LESSON ……………………………………….. Galatians 4:12-20

Lynnly Buchanan reads the Epistle Lesson

Brothers, I entreat you, become as I am, for I also have become as you are. You did me no wrong. You know it was because of a bodily ailment that I preached the gospel to you at first, and though my condition was a trial to you, you did not scorn or despise me, but received me as an angel of God, as Christ Jesus. What then has become of your blessedness? For I testify to you that, if possible, you would have gouged out your eyes and given them to me. Have I then become your enemy by telling you the truth?

They make much of you, but for no good purpose. They want to shut you out, that you may make much of them.It is always good to be made much of for a good purpose, and not only when I am present with you,my little children, for whom I am again in the anguish of childbirth until Christ is formed in you!I wish I could be present with you now and change my tone, for I am perplexed about you.

HYMN ………………………………………………………………………. #258  Holy Wisdom

GOSPEL LESSON …………………………………………………………… John 8:12-20

Becca Clancy reads the Gospel Lesson

Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” So the Pharisees said to him, “You are bearing witness about yourself; your testimony is not true.” Jesus answered, “Even if I do bear witness about myself, my testimony is true, for I know where I came from and where I am going, but you do not know where I come from or where I am going. You judge according to the flesh; I judge no one. Yet even if I do judge, my judgment is true, for it is not I alone who judge, but I and the Father who sent me. In your Law it is written that the testimony of two people is true. I am the one who bears witness about myself, and the Father who sent me bears witness about me.” They said to him therefore, “Where is your Father?” Jesus answered, “You know neither me nor my Father. If you knew me, you would know my Father also.” These words he spoke in the treasury, as he taught in the temple; but no one arrested him, because his hour had not yet come.

SERMON ………………………………… Shrines……………………. Rev. Rebecca Clancy

SPECIAL MUSIC …………………………………… Fear is a Liar, by Zach Williams

TITHES AND OFFERINGS
Surely the goodness of God overflows in our lives.  Take time to count your blessings.  The works of God are all around us.  In these moments, we have the opportunity to offer ourselves and our substance to extend God’s work on earth.
Make these moments a true dedication to your purposes among us, O God.  May we serve you day and night, in all that we do.  Increase our faith. Increase our witness. All glory be unto your son Jesus Christ.  Amen.

Click here for our online giving portal.

CLOSING HYMN …………………………………………………………….. #265  Spirit of God

Benediction
May the Lord watch between me and thee, while we are apart one from the other, Amen.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is the-prayer-of-the-righteous.png

Please keep the following individuals in your prayers this week:

  • Nancy Hannah’s friend, Sharon (illness);
  • The family of Marilyn Cuscaden (death of Marilyn);
  • Jodi Holleran’s mom (illness);
  • Mercedes Nuss (illness);
  • Kelsey’s friend, Ryan (illness);
  • Jess Reddy’s friend, Keeley (illness);
  • Sue Cechner’s friend, John (Illness);
  • Jodi Holleran’s friend, Matt (illness);
  • Danièle Gibney’s friend, Pam (illness and upcoming surgery);
  • Barb and Dick Sharp’s friend, Alice (illness);
  • Barb and Dick Sharp’s nephew, Jeff (illness);
  • Carolyn and Gail’s son, Collin (unit deployed to Afganistan);
  • Lisa Peterson (illness);
  • Linda Moran (illness);
  • Keith Dobbin and family (death of Keith’s brother);
  • Faith DiMaria’s brother, Steve, and family (illness);
  • The Connolly Family (lots of prayers);
  • Those affected by violence as well as those serving in the military;

Leave a comment